ONLINE UPDATE: New board members take seats

by Kelly Corbett
Tuesday, December 17, 2013

In between the outgoing Wrightsville Beach Board of Aldermen meeting and the new board’s meeting on Tuesday, Dec. 17, each member was sworn in one at a time before taking their seats.
Mayor Bill Blair took outgoing Mayor David Cignotti’s seat after being sworn in by Judge W. Allen Cobb, Jr.
Alderman Hank Miller III was sworn in by Judge W. Allen Cobb, Jr. and Alderwoman Lisa Weeks was sworn in by town clerk Sylvia Holleman.
During a series of unanimous votes by the new board, Alderman Darryl Mills was selected to serve as mayor pro tem. Mills will also serve as the board representative on the Port, Waterway and Beach Commission; Blair will serve on the Tourism Development Authority; Weeks will serve on the Wrightsville Beach Marketing Advisory Committee; Miller will serve on the Transportation Advisory Committee; and Alderwoman Elizabeth King will serve on the North Carolina Holiday Flotilla committee.
The new members will also fill the seats of outgoing members on the Board of Adjustment, scheduled to meet on Thursday, Dec. 19
The board will meet for a retreat on Jan. 11, a beach town meeting on Jan. 17 and the regular meeting on Jan. 23.
The full story will be printed on Thursday, Dec. 19.

Copyright 2014 Lumina News. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


 Email this to a friend    Printable version