WBFD holds 98th annual Christmas dinner and awards ceremony

by Staff
Wednesday, December 11, 2013

Staff photo by Emmy Errante

Bethany and Marcus Scott attend the annual Wrightsville Beach Fire Department dinner at the Oceanic Restaurant on Saturday, Dec. 7. Marcus Scott received several awards at the event, including Firefighter of the Year.

The Wrightsville Beach Fire Department held its 98th annual Christmas dinner and awards ceremony on Saturday, Dec. 7, sponsored by the Wrightsville Beach Volunteer Firefighters Association.

All firefighters were thanked for their service and several were honored with awards during the dinner at the Oceanic Restaurant.

The Firefighter of the Year award went to Marcus Scott for his outstanding overall contribution to the department. Captain Daniel Reid received the Service Commendation award. Firefighters Shawn Kenny, Marcus Scott, Calvin Smith and Jeffrey Williams received 200 Club awards for attending more than 200 hours of fire service training during 2013. Firefighter Marcus Scott received the Best Drill Attendance award, firefighter Calvin Smith received the Most Duty Time award and firefighter Garrett McQueen received the award for Most Fire Alarm Responses.

Five-year service anniversary awards were presented to lead fire equipment operator Thomas Toby, firefighter Bryan Dankanich and firefighter Marcus Scott; A 15-year service anniversary award was presented to Captain Robert Pugh; Captain Sterling Powell was recognized for 30 years of service.

Sarah Pugh, daughter of Captain Robert Pugh, and firefighter Garrett McQueen were recognized as recipients of Wrightsville Beach Fire Department Relief Fund scholarships.

Copyright 2014 Lumina News. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


 Email this to a friend    Printable version